Water jet cutting is an abrasive separation process. A distinction is made between the pure water jet cutting and abrasive water jet cutting by adding powdery material. The plants are the Laser cutting machines and plasma cutting machines very similar, where here the cutting is done by water and possibly added additives.

Pure water jet cutting is mainly used for soft materials such as plastic films or foams and is of little relevance in mechanical and plant engineering. By adding abrasives, the cutting ability of the water is further increased, so that water jet cutting can also be used for hard materials such as steel, glass or ceramic materials.

As a rule, water jet cutting takes place along a flat contour, such as a sheet metal. With the latest product technology, this cut can also be done in 3D. 3D technology is used when cutting turbine blades, fan wheels and various types of three-dimensional components.
Water jet cutter

The big advantage of water jet cutting is the minimal heat input to the surface of the component to be cut, which does not damage the surrounding structure of the component. Thus, the range of applications of water jet cutting is more versatile and it can be cut in addition to metals and glass, tiles, ceramics, granite, marble, wood, plastic, Plexiglas or rubber. Another big advantage of water jet cutting is the cutting of precise and very complicated contours, so that no post-processing is required. In most cases, the components can be processed immediately. The machining step of deburring is usually omitted.

The company ATP Technologies from Tököl, south of Budapest, 2D offers water jet cutting on a KMT NeoLine i40 OEM system with 3.800bar.

With this machine it is possible to create very precise contours in epoxy resin sheets, as you can see from the data of a reference component provided:

An 1,5mm thick epoxy board was processed with the following properties:

PropertiesStandardUnitValue
DensityISO 1183 / Ag / cm3approx. 2.0
Flexural strength at 23 ° CISO 178MPa400
Flexural modulus of elasticityISO 178MPaapprox. 18000
Impact strength (Charpy) paralell to laminationISO 179 / 3 CkJ / m250 - 100
Tensile strengthISO 527MPa220
Compressive strength perpendicular to laminationsISO 604MPa500
Breakdown voltage at 90 ° C in oil perpendicular to laminationsIEC 243kV40

The cutting speed was 800mm / min at a pump pressure of 3.800 bar. For waterjet cutting, an accuracy + 0,1mm was maintained in a contour with 13mm radius.

Workpieces water jet cuttingWorkpieces water jet cuttingWorkpieces water jet cutting

More information and contact details for ATP Technologies can be found here here.

Beim Wasserstrahlschneiden handelt es sich um ein abtragendes Trennverfahren. Man unterscheidet zwischen dem Reinwasserstrahlschneiden und abrasivem Wasserstrahlschneiden durch Zusatz von pulverförmigem Material. Die Anlagen sind den Laserschneidemaschinen und Plasmaschneidmaschinen sehr ähnlich, wobei hier das Schneiden durch Wasser und eventuell hinzugefügten Zusatzstoffen erfolgt.

Das Reinwasserstrahlschneiden wird vorwiegend für weiche Werkstoffe, wie Kunststofffolien oder Schaumstoffe angewendet und ist im Maschinen- und Anlagenbau nur wenig relevant. Durch die Zugabe von Abrasiven wird die Schneidfähigkeit des Wassers weiter erhöht, so dass sich das Wasserstrahlschneiden auch für harte Werkstoffe wie Stahl, Glas oder keramische Materialien einsetzen lässt.

 

In der Regel erfolgt das Wasserstrahlschneiden entlang einer ebenen Kontur, wie einem Blech. Mit der neuesten Produkttechnologie kann dieser Schnitt auch in 3D erfolgen. 3D-Technologie wird beim Schneiden von Turbinenschaufeln, Lüfterrädern und verschiedenen Arten von dreidimensionalen Bauteilen eingesetzt.
Wasserstrahlschneidemaschine

Der große Vorteil des Wasserstrahlschneidens ist der minimale Wärmeeintrag auf die Oberfläche des zu schneidenden Bauteils, der die umliegende Struktur des Bauteils nicht beschädigt. Dadurch ist das Einsatzspektrum des Wasserstrahlschneidens vielseitiger und es können neben Metallen auch Glas, Fliesen, Keramik, Granit, Marmor, Holz, Kunststoff, Plexiglas oder Gummi damit geschnitten werden. Ein weiterer großer Pluspunkt des Wasserstrahlschneidens ist das Schneiden von präzisen und sehr komplizierten Konturen, so dass keine Nachbearbeitung erforderlich ist. In den meisten Fällen können die Bauteile sofort weiterverarbeitet werden. Der Bearbeitungsschritt des Entgratens entfällt meist.

Die Firma ATP Technologies aus Tököl, südlich von Budapest bietet 2D – Wasserstrahlschneiden auf einer KMT NeoLine i40 OEM Anlage mit 3.800bar an.

Damit lassen sich zum Beispiel sehr genaue Konturen in Epoxydharzplatten erstellen wie Sie anhand der Daten eines zur verfügung gestellten Referenzbauteils sehen können:

Bearbeitet wurde eine 1,5mm dicke Platte aus Epoxidharz mit folgenden Eigenschaften:

PropertiesNormUnitValue
DensityISO 1183/Ag/cm3approx. 2.0
Flexural strength at 23°CISO 178MPa400
Flexural modulus of elasticityISO 178MPaapprox. 18000
Impact strength (Charpy) paralell to laminationsISO 179/3 CkJ/m250-100
Tensile strengthISO 527MPa220
Compressive strength perpendicular to laminationsISO 604MPa500
Breakdown voltage at 90°C in oil perpendicular to laminationsIEC 243kV40

Die Schnittgeschwindigkeit betrug 800mm/min bei einem Pumpendruck von 3.800 bar. Beim Wasserstrahlschneiden wurde eine Genauigkeit +0,1mm in einer Kontur mit 13mm Radius eingehalten.

Werkstücke WasserstrahlschneidenWerkstücke WasserstrahlschneidenWerkstücke Wasserstrahlschneiden

Weitere Informationen und Kontaktdaten zu ATP Technologies finden Sie hier.